1974

I recently had my birthday. My wife’s parents gave me a card filled with facts about the year of my birth: 1974. At 33, I didn’t feel too old until I read some of the facts:

  • The pocket calculator was first marketed. (Really, I am as old as the pocket calculator!)
  • Dr. Henry Heimlick first described the Heimlich Maneuver in a medical journal. (I’m as old as the Hemilich Maneuver!)
  • The cost of living: $34,900 for a new house; $13,869 average yearly income; $185 average rent; $3200 for tuition to Harvard University; 55 cents for a gallon of gasoline; 10 cents for a postage stamp.
  • Hank Aaron broke Babe Ruth’s homerun record.
Leave a Reply

