September 2007 – Youth News

Several years back, I was sitting in a dorm room at children’s camp with two young men. I was thankful for how God was using these two men and excited about what God had in store for them. A couple of years later while serving as Pastor in East Texas, we were in need of a youth minister. I told Sunshine that it would be a joy to work with a youth minister like one of those two men. I called those two men by name that day. The two names: Drew Howard and Justin Southall.

I thank God for how He has worked in allowing me to serve with these two men who I love and respect and consider good friends. I am thankful for what Drew . . . sorry. . . Coach Howard has meant to our church and youth group. I am excited about how God is going to use Coach Howard in our school system and how God will continue to use both Drew (old habits are hard to break) and Carrie in our church and community.

I am also thankful that God has led Justin Southall to be our new youth minister. He will begin his service with us on September 2nd. I believe that God is going to use Justin in mighty ways as a mentor to our Christian students and in reaching lost students in our community for Christ

Students, let me remind you to invite your friends to the youth building on Wednesday, September 5th, at 7:00 p.m. We will have an Ice Cream Sundae Fellowship and a time for students throughout our community to get to know our new youth minister.

Leave a Reply

