A Thanksgiving Prose

Much
Lord, I am Thankful for Much
My heart overflows with thanksgiving when I consider your call on my life. As Paul has said under Your divine hand of inspiration, “I give thanks to Christ Jesus our Lord, who has strengthened me, because He considered me faithful, appointing me to ministry.” I do not deserve the blessing of serving You in a church where I and my family are so loved. I use the term serving loosely for I know that You do not need me. It is I who need You. I am unworthy yet utterly appreciative.

My heart overflows with thanksgiving because of the three girls you have entrusted to Sunshine and me. For late nights, dirty diapers, and even tantrums in public places, I am thankful. For there is no part of these little ones I would change. No earthly treasure, victory, or position can compare to their blues eyes and smiles and hugs. Your Word says children are a gift from the Lord. For my three precious gifts, I am forever grateful.

My heart overflows with thanksgiving because of my wonderful wife to whom you have united me. There is great joy in knowing you are loved unconditionally and will be so loved the rest of your life. This is the joy I find in Sunshine. She is my best friend and perfect mother for our girls. By the way, she is the one most responsible for answering the call to those late nights, dirty diapers, and tantrums in public places. In Your Word I read, “A man who finds a wife finds a good thing and obtains favor from the Lord.” For Your favor in my spouse and friend I rejoice.

My heart overflows with Thanksgiving for the salvation I have in Your Son. In His death I have life. Again my spirit resonates with Your Word. “Give thanks to the Father, who has enabled you to share in the saints’ inheritance in the light. He has rescued us from the domain of darkness and transferred us into the kingdom of the Son He loves.” For rescuing me, I am eternally thankful.

I thank You, God, For my Call, my Church, my Children, my wife and my salvation although in saying “my”, I know they are actually Yours, from You and for You.

I am thankful for much.

Leave a Reply

