Remember the Alamo. Greater still, remember Jesus.

While on vacation in San Antonio, we only spent a couple of hours in the downtown area, and even though we were on the opposite side of downtown, I told Sunshine there is something wrong with coming to San Antonio and not going by the Alamo.  So we made the long walk down the River Walk with the girls and took a few snapshots.

Remembering the Alamo, causes a solemn sense of appreciation, gratitude, and love to arise in one's soul for not only the men who gave their lives at the Alamo, but the men and women serving around the world for the sake of freedom – the freedom that allows me to walk down a River Walk, to stand in front of an old mission turned fort turned museum, and to marvel at God's creatures at Sea World with my family.  I would gladly make such a sacrifice for the family I love; but for someone else who doesn't even know me to make this sacrifice for me and my family, words fall short to express appropriate honor they deserve.

As I consider the writing on plaques surrounding the Alamo, those that gave their lives, and those that risk their lives still today, I am reminded of the greatest sacrifice ever made; that of Jesus giving His life for me.  I'm also reminded of His call upon my life to die to self daily for His Kingdom.  Let these Scriptures speak to us:

I have been crucified with Christ.  It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me.  And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.  Galatians 2:20

Looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.  Hebrews 12:2

Then Jesus told his disciples, "If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will find it."  Matthew 16:24-25

Then Paul answered, "What are you doing, weeping and breaking my heart?  For I am ready not only to be imprisoned but even to die in Jerusalem for the name of the Lord Jesus."  Acts 21:13

And this thought by Tertullian

The blood of the martyrs is the seed of the church.

Remember the Alamo!  Greater still, remember Jesus!

Img_1094Img_1089Img_1097

Leave a Reply

