Take Refuge in the Fortress

God is a fortress to those who take refuge in Him!

 

The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer, my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge, my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold. Psalm 18:2

  

 

I.                    You must have a personal, love relationship with God.

 

I love you, O Lord, my strength. Psalm 18:1

 

He brought me out into a broad place; he rescued me, because he delighted in me. Psalm 18:19

 

As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love.

John 15:9

  

 

·         When you have a relationship with God, you want to praise Him.

 

I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies. Psalm 18:3

  

 

·         When you have a relationship with God, you want to pray to Him.

 

I call upon the Lord, who is worthy to be praised, and I am saved from my enemies. ..

In my distress I called upon the Lord; to my God I cried for help. From his temple he heard my voice, and my cry to him reached his ears. Psalm 18:3, 6

  

 

 

II.                  You must come to God on His terms, accepting Him for Who He is.

 

For who is God, but the Lord? And who is a rock, except our God? Psalm 18:31

 

God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth. John 4:24

 

‘You shall have no other gods before me. Deuteronomy 5:7

 

‘You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is on the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth. . .

 

You shall not bow down to them or serve them; for I the Lord your God am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing steadfast love to thousands of those who love me and keep my commandments. Deuteronomy 5:8–10

 

 

 

 

III.                You must walk with God in obedience to His Word.

 

This God—his way is perfect; the word of the Lord proves true; he is a shield for all those who take refuge in him. Psalm 18:30

 

. . . The ways of the Lord are right, and the upright walk in them. . .  Hosea 14:9

 

If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in his love. John 15:10

 

The Lord dealt with me according to my righteousness; according to the cleanness of my hands he rewarded me. For I have kept the ways of the Lord, and have not wickedly departed from my God. For all his rules were before me, and his statutes I did not put away from me. Psalm 18:20–22

 

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean; wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow. Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones that you have broken rejoice. Hide your face from my sins, and blot out all my iniquities. Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit. Psalm 51:7–12

 

As far as the east is from the west, so far does he remove our transgressions from us. Psalm 103:12

Leave a Reply

