The Fortress of God

 

I.                    The Fortress of God is a place of security.

 

The most secure place on the planet is the Fortress of God – walking with Him and in obedience to His Word.

 

Deliver me from my enemies, O my God; protect me from those who rise up against me; deliver me from those who work evil, and save me from bloodthirsty men. Psalm 59:1–2

 

You will be delivered up even by parents and brothers and relatives and friends, and some of you they will put to death. You will be hated by all for my name’s sake. But not a hair of your head will perish. By your endurance you will gain your lives. Luke 21:16–19

 

. . . God will let me look in triumph on my enemies. Psalm 59:10

 

Nevertheless I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed and am persuaded that He is able to keep what I have committed to Him until that Day. 2 Timothy 1:12

 

  

 

II.                  The Fortress of God is a place of strength.

 

O my Strength, I will watch for you, for you, O God, are my fortress. Psalm 59:9

 

Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his might. Ephesians 6:10

 

Even youths shall faint and be weary, and young men shall fall exhausted; but they who wait for the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles; they shall run and not be weary; they shall walk and not faint. Isaiah 40:30–31

 

Let me hear joy and gladness; let the bones that you have broken rejoice. Psalm 51:8

 

He himself bore our sins in his body on the tree, that we might die to sin and live to righteousness. By his wounds you have been healed. 1 Peter 2:24

 

Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.  Matthew 11:28

 

 

  

III.                The Fortress of God is a place of steadfast love.

 

My God in his steadfast love will meet me. . . Psalm 59:10

 

Wondrously show your steadfast love, O Savior of those who seek refuge from their adversaries at your right hand. Psalm 17:7

 

Many are the sorrows of the wicked, but steadfast love surrounds the one who trusts in the Lord. Psalm 32:10

 

Your steadfast love, O Lord, extends to the heavens, your faithfulness to the clouds. Psalm 36:5

 

Remember not the sins of my youth or my transgressions; according to your steadfast love remember me, for the sake of your goodness, O Lord! Psalm 25:7

 

but God shows his love for us in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

Romans 5:8

 

There is therefore now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus. Romans 8:1

 

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life. John 3:16

 

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38–39

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IV.               The Fortress of God is a place of singing.

 

But I will sing of your strength; I will sing aloud of your steadfast love in the morning. For you have been to me a fortress and a refuge in the day of my distress. O my Strength, I will sing praises to you, for you, O God, are my fortress, the God who shows me steadfast love.  Psalm 59:16–17

 

Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth! Serve the Lord with gladness! Come into his presence with singing! Psalm 100:1–2

 

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. Colossians 3:16

 

Addressing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody to the Lord with your heart, Ephesians 5:19

 

 

Leave a Reply

