The Joy Exchange: Letting Go of Temporal Joys to Embrace Eternal Joy

        I.            Matthew 13:44-46 – The Parables of the Treasure and the Pearl

 

… in his joy he goes and sells all that he has and buys that field.

 

… who, on finding one pearl of great value, went and sold all that he had and bought it.

 

      II.            Philippians 3:4-8 – Paul’s Former Pride vs. The Joy-Producing Worth of Jesus

Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ Philippians 3:8

    III.            Luke 19:1-10 – Zacchaeus’ Sordid Gain vs. Joyful Generosity

… So he hurried and came down and received him joyfully.

 

… Behold, Lord, the half of my goods I give to the poor. And if I have defrauded anyone of anything, I restore it fourfold.

   IV.            Luke 18:18-23 – The Rich Young Ruler: clinging to wealth, walked away sorrowful

But when he heard these things, he became very sad, for he was extremely rich. Luke 18:23

Will you exchange those things that promise happiness but leave you empty for that which will bring everlasting joy?

You have put more joy in my heart than they have when their grain and wine abound. Psalm 4:7

You make known to me the path of life; in your presence there is fullness of joy; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore. Psalm 16:11 

Leave a Reply

