Let Us Draw Near: The Benefits of Being Close to God

Through the Book of Hebrews

But for me it is good to be near God; I have made the Lord God my refuge, that I may tell of all your works. Psalm 73:28

I. Hebrews 4:16 – Those who draw near to God find support in their time of need.

God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Psalm 46:1

II. Hebrews 5:12 -6:1 – Those who draw near to God experience spiritual growth.

And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit. 2 Corinthians 3:18

III. Hebrews 6:18-20 – Those who draw near to God have lasting security.

My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me. I give them eternal life, and they will never perish, and no one will snatch them out of my hand. My Father, who has given them to me, is greater than all, and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. John 10:27–29

IV. Hebrews 7:25 – Those who draw near to God are saved to the uttermost.

The saying is trustworthy and deserving of full acceptance, that Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners, of whom I am the foremost. 1 Timothy 1:15

V. Hebrews 12:1-3 – Those who draw near to God find strength for life’s journey.

Seek the Lord and his strength; seek his presence continually! 1 Chronicles 16:11

VI. Hebrews 12:22-24 – Those who draw near to God are with their Savior.

Behold, I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in to him and eat with him, and he with me. Revelation 3:20

Leave a Reply

