The Gospel at Work: Romans 1:8-17

The Book of Romans: The Good News of God

The Gospel at Work

Romans 1:8-17

I. The Gospel is advancing throughout the world.

I want you to know, brothers, that what has happened to me has really served to advance the gospel. Philippians 1:12

But I do not account my life of any value nor as precious to myself, if only I may finish my course and the ministry that I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify to the gospel of the grace of God. Acts 20:24

But the word of God increased and multiplied. Acts 12:24

. . . I am suffering, bound with chains as a criminal. But the word of God is not bound! 2 Timothy 2:9

[The gospel], which has come to you, as indeed in the whole world it is bearing fruit and increasing—as it also does among you. . . Colossians 1:6

For as the rain and the snow come down from heaven and do not return there but water the earth, making it bring forth and sprout, giving seed to the sower and bread to the eater, so shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it. Isaiah 55:10–11

II. The Gospel encourages believers.

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, teaching and admonishing one another in all wisdom, singing psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, with thankfulness in your hearts to God. Colossians 3:16

Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together, as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near. Hebrews 10:23–25

III. The Gospel saves the lost.

For the word of the cross is folly to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God. 1 Corinthians 1:18

How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? Romans 10:14

Therefore do not be ashamed of the testimony about our Lord, nor of me his prisoner, but share in suffering for the gospel by the power of God. 2 Timothy 1:8

Leave a Reply

